The new WhatsApp feature called ‘Accidental Delete’ will help prevent those awkward moments when you send a message to the wrong person or group and accidentally click the wrong button
- The feature will allow users to undo their deleted messages.
- A five-second window will be given to undo.
- This feature will be available for both iOS and Android users.
Ever since the WhatsApp beta v184.108.40.206 was released, the company is testing a feature that allows users to undo the messages that were deleted. In the recent updates, this feature was named “Accidental Delete”, and it will be available to a wider audience to use. This feature will be rolled out soon and can be used by both Android and iOS users.
WHAT IS THIS FEATURE?
This feature was long-awaited and much-needed because earlier if users accidentally deleted their message by selecting “delete for me” instead of selecting “delete for everyone”, they had no choice but to deal with a message that was deleted for them, but everyone else could see. This caused a lot of trouble for people who sent an incorrect message and deleted it only for themselves and not for the entire conversation.
With this new feature, users can undo their delete. When they press “delete for me”, they will now have a five-second window in which they can undo the process and delete the message for everyone else, instead of only for themselves. WhatsApp shows a pop-up after users tap “delete for me” and allows them to undo their deleted message.
In order to get this feature, users should have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their Android and iOS devices.
SOME OTHER FEATURES OF WHATSAPP
WhatsApp announced on December 14 that it has begun testing picture-in-picture support for video calls on iOS. This is because the feature has been present in Android devices for quite a while now and iOS devices were trailing behind in this regard. The picture-in-picture feature is only available for certain iOS users who are WhatsApp beta users. The worldwide release will be available for all iOS users only next year
WhatsApp has a feature called ‘Delete for Everyone’ which is a lifesaver. You can use it to delete a text that has already been sent and delivered. You always see two options for deleting a text, ‘Delete for Everyone’ and ‘Delete for me’. Many times the user taps on ‘Delete for me’ instead of ‘Delete for Everyone’. They then can’t delete that text for everyone. Now WhatsApp has launched a new ‘Accidental Delete feature to solve such situations. The new feature is already rolling out to new users.
The new WhatsApp feature called ‘Accidental Delete’ will help prevent those awkward moments when you send a message to the wrong person or group and accidentally click the wrong button. WhatsApp will offer a five-second window to reverse the accidental delete and choose ‘delete for everyone’ instead. As soon as you select ‘delete for me’, you’ll see an undo option at the bottom of the screen. The message will reappear as soon as you hit ‘undo’. You can then go on to ‘delete for everyone’.
This new feature is available on both Android and iPhone and is sure to be a welcome addition for anyone who has ever experienced the panic of accidentally sending the wrong message. So, if you’re a WhatsApp user, be sure to take advantage of this new layer of protection.
Notes to remember WhatsApp delete for everyone
In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, you and the recipients must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
Recipients using WhatsApp for iOS may still have media you sent saved to their Photos, even after the message is deleted from the WhatsApp chat.
Recipients might see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion wasn’t successful.
You won’t be notified if deleting for everyone wasn’t successful.
You have about 2 days after you’ve sent a message to request to Delete for Everyone.
Only group admins can delete messages sent by other group participants.
Group admins have about 2 days after someone else sends a message to request to Delete for Everyone.
Group participants will be able to see which admin chose to Delete for Everyone.
Messages deleted by a group admin are not recoverable and cannot be appealed.